About Us

The Cuyahoga County Solid Waste District is the leading resource in Cuyahoga County for information, expertise and programs that support sustainable materials management and reduce the environmental impact of waste. Our six staff members work to empower residents, communities and organizations to manage their waste responsibly by reducing, reusing, recycling and composting.

The District is governed by a Board of Directors and is advised by a Solid Waste Policy Committee which oversees the development and implementation of the Cuyahoga County Solid Waste Management Plan.


  • Recycling Information, Brochures & Speakers
  • Business Recycling Assistance and Workshops
  • Children’s Education Programs
  • Composting and Recycling Seminars
  • Grant Programs
  • Recycling & Composting Workshops
  • Local Government Contracting Assistance
  • Special Recycling Programs
  • Household hazardous waste
  • Scrap tires
  • Computers
  • Election signs, holiday lights, small appliances
  • Waste management consulting

Solid Waste District Board of Directors

  • Mr. Mike Foley, Director of Sustainability for Armond Budish, Cuyahoga County Executive
  • Mr. Michael Dever, Cuyahoga County Public Works Director
  • Ms. Sunny Simon, Cuyahoga County Council
Board of Directors meetings are held quarterly. Please check our calendar for meeting dates and locations. Meeting minutes are available from the District.

Solid Waste Policy Committee

  • TBD, Chair, County Representative
  • Ms. Shontel Brown, County Representative
  • Ms. Sunny Simon, County Representative
  • Mr. Freddy Collier, City of Cleveland
  • Mayor Michael Gammella, City of Brook Park
  • Mayor Michael Procuk, Village of Brooklyn Heights
  • Mayor Pam Bobst, City of Rocky River
  • Mayor Brad Sellers, City of Warrensville Heights
  • Mayor Michael Byrne, City of Parma Heights
  • Mayor Anthony DiCicco, City of Mayfield Heights
  • Mayor Michael Dylan Brennan, City of University Heights
  • Mr. John DeMuth, Public Representative
  • Mr. Cary Mathias, Arcelor Mittal, Business Representative
Policy Committee meetings are held quarterly. See our calendar for meeting dates and locations.

Public Records Policy

Public Records Policy of the Cuyahoga County Solid Waste District view PDF

Making a Public Records Request view PDF

Solid Waste District Records Retention Schedule View PDF



Diane Bickett, Executive Director

email Diane

Jessica Fenos, Assistant Director

  • solid waste plan
  • reports
  • surveys
  • contracts
  • maps of facilities

email Jessica

Maria Ortiz, Business Administrator

  • accounts payable/receivable
  • budget planning
  • purchasing
  • HR
  • public records requests

email Maria

Doreen Schreiber, Business Recycling Specialist

  • business recycling assistance
  • setting up a recycling program
  • recycling seminars
  • speakers

email Doreen

Cristie Snyder, Programs and Marketing Communications

  • marketing communications and outreach
  • website
  • advertising/PR
  • social media
  • media relations
  • residential recycling and special recycling programs

email Cristie

Education Specialist 

  • composting information
  • classroom visits
  • education seminars
  • adult presentations
  • workshops
  • speakers


Subscribe to our newsletter